• Crestview 22
  • Crestview 148
  • Crestview 56 01

This year the Crestview FFA held their 54th annual banquet on Thursday, April 20th to honor the accomplishments the chapter has made throughout this Past year. The events of the night consisted of a dinner,  silent auction, a student labor auction and then the awards ceremony along with officer installation in the high school’s auditorium.

The evening began with the Chapter's President, Kathy Lehman, and an Alumni member, Andy Motter, welcoming our many guests. First on the agenda was a dinner and the silent auction in the gymnasium of Crestview High School where attendants could bid on items donated by local merchants and families. Next on the agenda was a student labor auction consisting of 18 groups of kids who chose to either plant flats of flowers or provide six hours of labor. In total the student labor auction tallied up $3,225 for their next year's chapter activities.

Following the meal and labor auction, the awards ceremony began with the traditional FFA opening ceremonies. Conducting the opening ceremonies was the 2016-2017 Crestview FFA Officer Team, consisting of President, Kathy Lehman; Vice Presidents Emma Ardis and Brynn Witmer; Secretary, Molly Ardis; Treasurer, Erin Bernhard; Reporter, Kadie Myers; Sentinel, Sarah Stuart; and Student Advisor, Savannah Stuart. 

The awards ceremony started by presening the Greenhand Degrees to first year members at the local level. Greenhand’s are still considered “green” due to their inexperience within the FFA. This year the chapter was proud to announce that 35 members 

Receiving their Greenhand Degree were,  Jonathan Abshire, Sam Amert, Sage Baith, Will Bolin, Skylar Branham, Logan Burkhart, Brooklyn Campbell, Carley Campo, Adalynn Emmons, Jackson Forman, Stephen Frank, Emily Fry, Kaylee Henthorn, Caden Hill, Cristian Hill, Garrett Hunt, Levi Kibler, Lilian Kinstle, Kolton Kissel, Cassidy Loughman, Sierra May, Eden McFarland, Alexis McWhorter, Elly Motter, Carter Nelson, Leo Ringler, Christian Sauder, Sierra Schaffer, Austin Smith, McKinnley Snyder, Bre Stepens, James Stuart, Allene Watson, and Maddy Workman. 

The Chapter Degree is awarded to FFA members at the local level in their second or third year with the following 16 members being awarded this year; Casper, Alvineda, Molly Ardis, Justin Bond, Anna Chaney, Ervin Fussner, Clayton Hout, Dakota Hamilton, Cody Loughman, Megan McFarland, Leann Pickworth, Cailyn Rogers, Isabella Rose, LaChrisha Sauder, Savanah Stuart, Bre Swank and Alexis Wagner. 

Only two percent of all FFA members in Ohio receive their State Degree. The Crestview FFA chapter proudly announced that they will have 10 members receiving their State Degree at the 89th State FFA Convention that consist of Emma Ardis, Erin Bernhard, Kathy Lehman, Jay Oswalt, Justin Bond, Shane Casper, Kadie Myers, Sarah Stuart, Katlyn Yoho, and Walker Ramsay. 

The chapter also announced that they will be adding two names to their growing list of American Degree Recipients. The American Degree is the highest degree attainable of the process and requires an outstanding amount of hard work and dedication to the FFA Organization. The Crestview FFA’s American Degree recipients for the year 2017 is Kelcie Chance and Jenna Purvis. 

Following the Degree recipients the chapter announced the Star Greenhand Award. This is awarded to freshmen who are willing and ready to do any task assigned. This years Star Greenhand went to Sierra Schaffer and Elly Motter. Star Chapter Award is awarded to second year ag members who have demonstrated a strong work ethic and has a developed SAE project. 

This year’s Star Chapter Award went to Savanah Stuart. The Outstanding Committee Chair goes to a chairmen who showed excellence in their efforts to complete their committee duties and best represent the Crestview FFA. The Outstanding Committee Chair went to LaCrisha Sauder.

 The outstanding sales award is given to the FFA members who sell the most Chicken Barbeque tickets and the Fruit Sale fruit in the chapters annual fund raising. Savanah Stuart was this year's Outstanding salesperson. Savanah raised over 1,000 dollars between the Chicken Barbeque and the Fruit Sale. The top four sales people were Jay Oswalt, Sierra Schaffer, Elly Motter and Kathy Lehman. 

Four seniors received the Outstanding Junior award. The Outstanding Junior award is awarded to 3rd year members that have gone above and beyond demonstrating hard work and leadership in the FFA program.  Juniors receiving this award were Kathy Lehman, Emma Ardis, Erin Bernhard and Brynn Witmer.

The six seniors who were awarded Outstanding Senior have demonstrated their ability to “practice brotherhood, honor agricultural opportunities and responsibilities and develop those qualities of leadership,” which every FFA member strives to posses. The seniors awarded were Justin Bond, Shane Casper, Dawson LaFever, Kadie Myers, Sarah Stuart and Katlyn Yoho. 

For the Honorary Chapter Degree, chapter members recognize community members that assist with chapter functions over the previous year.  This year Crestview FFA recognized two recipients. The first recipient was Mrs. Marcia Puster. Marcia has worked in the board office as the Assistant Treasurer for over 17 years. She has always been willing to assist the chapter in all their needs including reports for the treasurer's book and purchase orders for FFA activities. The final recipient was Mr. Rusty Radcliff. Mr. Radcliff has been a teacher and a coach at Crestview for the past 25 years. One of his biggest contributions each year is after the fruit sale fundraiser that the chapter holds, Mr. Radcliff volunteers to help FFA members deliver the extra fruit to the Domestic Violence shelter in Mansfield. 

Closing out the night was the Scholarships presented by the Crestview FFA Alumni. The 2016- 2017 Le Mac Scholarship was awarded to Justin Bond, with five of our members receiving the 2016-2017 Alumni Scholarships. The  five Alumni Scholarships were awarded to Sarah Stuart, Kadie Myers, Shane Casper, Dawson LaFever and Katlyn Yoho.

The banquet ended with the installation of the 2017-2018 Crestview FFA Officer Team. The new officers are: Kathy Lehman: President; Emma Ardis: Vice President; Erin Bernhard: Secretary; Sierra Schaffer: Treasurer; Elly Motter and Sierra May: Reporter;  Molly Ardis: Sentinel; Savanah Stuart: Student Advisor; and Brynn Witmer: Officer at Large.

 Submitted by ​​Crestview FFA Reporters: Elly Motter and Sierra May​

Pictured below: Crestview FFA Seniors; Crestview FFA Officers